On The Liebster Award

If there’s one thing I hate, it’s a chain letter.  Whether it’s a Youtube comment, an email, or one of those fake Facebook messages, I hate anything that has the gall to tell me I now have to take part in furthering its asinine existence.

annoying

You’re telling me that I have to actually do things?  Screw you.  In fact, because of this, I’m not even going to study for surgery tomorrow. 

I’m going on this tirade because last week, my girlfriend posted in a comment on my blog that she had nominated me for the semi-prestigious Lieber Award.  When I went to her blog to read about this, I discovered that it’s just another one of these chain letter things where I answer questions the commenter picked out, then I pick seven new blogs to answer my own questions.  There’s no criteria for picking these new blogs aside from the fact that they must have less than 200 followers.

liebster

It’s like a participation award, except you’re actually awarded for being unpopular.  So it’s more like a spelling bee trophy.  Da-dum-tss!

But seeing as how it was my girlfriend who nominated me and we’re no doubt going to have a fight about how I’ve been nothing but sarcastic about receiving her “award” (still doing it!), I figure I might as well go along with it.  So here are the rules for this award, the answers to the questions Louise gave me, the bloggers I’m nominating, and the questions I’ve come up with for them.


THE RULES:

  1. Put Liebster award logo on your blog
  2. Thank and tag the blog who nominated you
  3. Answer their questions and come up with 10 new questions for your nominees
  4. Nominate 7 blogs (with less than 200 followers); let them know that you’ve nominated them in your post
  5. No tag-backs!

MY ANSWERS TO LOUISE’S QUESTIONS:

1.  Raw fish or raw meat?

This is like the easiest question in the world.

This is raw fish:

Sushi

Beautiful, healthy, and colorful.  The perfect meal.

This is raw meat:

Meat Grinder

Do you want E. coli?  Because that’s how you get E. coli.

In case I haven’t been clear, I prefer raw fish.

2.  If you could live in one country, what would it be and why?

Norway all the way.  Their college education is free, they speak English, they have universal healthcare, and their prisons are ridiculously humane.

Home away from home: One of the private cells at Norway's new Halden Prison - which appears to be nicer than most university dormitory rooms
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1277158/Halden-Prison-Inside-Norways-posh-new-jail.html
It's the end of 'dropping the soap' jokes with these posh en-suite bathrooms for inmates at the new £15million prison
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1277158/Halden-Prison-Inside-Norways-posh-new-jail.html

From one of Norway’s maximum security prisons.

Norway is everything that a civilized society should be.  The only reason I was thinking I might not want to move there is because it’s cold, but I just learned while researching this answer that the southern part of Norway has beautiful warm summers.  So I want to go there as soon as possible.

Enige og troe, indtil Dovre falder.

3.  What are your aspirations in life? (Beyonce reference) 🙂

I want to be a veterinarian and writer.  More specifically, I aim to be a small animal general practitioner, preferably in an emergency-leaning practice.  I always figured that this would mean going into private practice, but after my recent spay and neuter day at the Michigan Humane Society, I’ve come to realize that I would really love to work at a Humane Society facility in whatever state I end up in.  The salaries are comparable to private practice, I get to work with the most at-risk animals, and your student loans are forgiven after 10 years of service.  Can’t beat that.

As far as specifics on the writing, I want to be a novelist and screenwriter for children’s animated programming.  I just released my debut novel, a psychological thriller about a newly orphaned teen’s search for answers and revenge.  I began my screenwriting career with a year-long attempt to revive The Adventures of Jimmy Neutron Boy Genius.  This led to me and my writng partner Ed creating a pilot and show bible for our own animated show, Continuum.  I’m also working on a novelization of this pilot, which will be my first young-adult novel.  I hope I can finalize it and send it to book agents next year.

Lastly, I hope to marry my beautiful girlfriend Louise once I’m done vet school.  Then we’ll have 2 – 3 very cute children.  (Louise wants three, but I’ve always preferred two.  Bob’s Burgers has showed me how amusing having three kids can be and has started to win me over to having more kids, though.)

4.  Who is your favorite person and why?

Nice try, Louise.  You can’t trick me.  You’re my favorite person.

Funny Louise with dog

You’re too full of life to not love.

If you’re searching for a less obvious answer, I was incredibly touched when I read about Hugh Clowers Thompson, Jr.  He was an American soldier during the Vietnam War.  During the My Lai Massacre, when other U.S. soldiers were killing hundreds of innocent women and children, Hugh Thompson set down his chopper, ordered his crew to point guns at his fellow Americans, and risked his own life to save as many Vietnamese villagers as he could.  We so often hear how easy it is to get caught up in a mob mentality or defer to authority and do horrible things we might not normally be a part of, but Mr. Thompson did the opposite.  In the midst of chaos, he refused to shirk away from what he knew was the right thing to do.  His story truly inspired me.

File:Hugh Clowers Thompson Jr.png

When I read about your story, I was so sorry to hear that you died young.  You were a beautiful human being and showed more honor and courage then I could ever hope to have.

5.  What is your middle name?

Douglas.

6.  What is one thing you wish you could do?

I’ve always thought having telekinesis would be insanely awesome.  Unlocking the full power of the human mind would have to be the most powerful ability anyone could ever achieve.

Lucy (2014 film) poster.jpg

Hopefully it wouldn’t also take away all my emotions and make me the most boring protagonist since Neo.

7.  What is your biggest fear?

The worst thing that could happen to me would be Louise dying.  I don’t let myself think about that, though, and these answers would all be boring if I let them center around Louise.  So now that I’ve clarified that, I’ll discuss my second biggest fear, the one I had since before I met Louise.

When I was growing up, I was incredibly awkward and lonely.  I felt like I didn’t need anyone, so I pushed away what few friends I had and just became really messed up in a lot of ways.  It wasn’t until tenth grade that I accepted that I needed others in my life, opened myself up, tried to be less awkward, and became the person I now am.  My biggest fear has always been reverting to the way I was in middle school and ninth grade, when I was scarred and alone.

8.  Do you want to build a snowman?

Not by myself.  This seems like a lot of fun to do with friends, and I think it would be especially fun with Louise.  Louise utterly hates the cold but tends to lose herself in silly things like building snowmen, so I think it would make for a complicated and fun experience.

I’m also going to assume that this is a reference to Frozen, so I’ll take this opportunity to say that I absolutely adored that movie.  It was wonderfully animated, Idina Menzel has a magical voice,it  was hilarious, and as someone who wants to work on children’s programming I found the message of sisterly love empowering and so refreshing to see.  I was so happy to see a Disney princess film that didn’t focus on how important finding a husband is.

9.  What is your favorite color?

Green.  Especially a slightly darker green like you see in trees.  I love nature and looking at beautiful pictures of jungles, plains, and forests.

Grass

The way those trees stick out in the middle?  It’s so satisfying.

10.  What is your least favorite season?

Winter.  I used to love it, but now that I’m an adult I need to shovel, scrape ice off my car, and walk long distances in the cold.  I hate it.  I just want to be comfortable.  Plus, it takes away the beautiful green.


My Nominations:

My Questions:

1.  Why did you start a blog?

2.  What was the scariest moment of your life?

3.  What was the most inspirational movie or TV scene you have ever seen?

4.  What is your favorite song and why?

5.  What was the worst book or story you have ever read?

6.  What one scientific achievement do you want to see in your lifetime?

7.  What one question would you ask your pet if it could answer?  (If you don’t have a pet, pick an animal to ask.)

8.  What is the dumbest belief popular in the country right now?

9.  What one thing could you do that would leave you satisfied for the rest of your life?

10.  What is your biggest regret that you feel comfortable sharing?


Note:  My three posts before this were incredibly self-indulgent looks at my old fanfiction stories, and this post was also all about me.  I’ll be happy to get back to serious topics with my next posts, namely Halo The Wicker Man.

Wicker-man-poster.jpg

That’s right, I’m going there really soon.  Stay tuned.  

Published by

quietthinker1

I'm a 24 year-old veterinary student, novelist, & aspiring screenwriter. I'm trying out this blogging thing in my spare time.

3 thoughts on “On The Liebster Award”

Leave a Reply

